Contact Us



Admission Procedures for the 80 Hour Transition Course
The 80 Hour Transition Course is designed for a part time law enforcement officer who has successfully completed the 400 hour Part Time Basic Law Enforcement Course, passed the certification exam, and has moved into a full time law enforcement classification for his employing agency.

Dates for this course are determined on an as needed basis.

An officer is registered into the course through the waiver process.  A Form E, Notice of Appointment for Full-time Classification and a Full-time Waiver Request application must be filed at the ILETSB to enroll the officer in the course.   You may secure the waiver form and the Form E from the ILETSB website under the Forms Link or through the EDI process.   Waiver applications must be fully processed to enroll the officer.  The law enforcement agency sponsoring the full time officer will receive a letter in response to the waiver application indicating the officer has been enrolled.  At the same time the ILETSB will notify Southwestern Illinois Police Academy that the officer has been enrolled in the course, and the academy will send the law enforcement agency an enrollment packet.

The purpose of this course is to reinforce previous training in critical duties and responsibilities, as well as introduce concepts that may not have been examined in previous training.

Upcoming 80 Hour Transition Course
All paperwork must be filed 1 week prior to starting date.

Session 16-E  
Application Deadline Friday, November 18, 2016
Start Date Monday, November 28, 2016
Ending Date Friday, December 9, 2016
Session 17-A  
Application Deadline Friday, February 17, 2017
Start Date Monday, February 27, 2017
Ending Date Friday, March 10, 2017
Session 17-B  
Application Deadline Friday, May 26, 2017
Start Date Monday, June 5, 2017
Ending Date Friday, June 16, 2017
Session 17-C  
Application Deadline Friday, September 4, 2017
Start Date Monday, September 11, 2017
Ending Date Friday, September 22, 2017
Session 17-D  
Application Deadline Friday, November 17, 2017
Start Date Monday, December 4, 2017
Ending Date Friday, December 15, 2017

Program Costs

Tuition and Housing 80 Hour Curriculum $1190

  All tuition, housing costs, fees, and reimbursement percentages are set by the ILETSB are subject to change.


Southwestern Illinois Police Academy
2500 Carlyle Ave.
Belleville, Illinois 62221